Texas A&M’s Andrew Lister is one step from qualifying for U.S. Open

RotatorAndrewLister
Andrew Lister, a redshirt sophomore for the Texas A&M golf team, fired an 8-under 64 at the U.S. Open local qualifying on Monday to advance to the sectional round June 2. [Photo courtesy of Texas A&M]

Fresh off an 8-under 64 at the U.S. Open local qualifier at Shadow Hawk Golf Club, Andrew Lister is in Raleigh, N.C., preparing the NCAA Raleigh Regional Tournament. But before he tees off once more this week, Lister sat down to talk to Editor-in-Chief Matt Keyser about his qualifying round, how he hopes to build more momentum going into the sectional round, and his man strength.

 

MATT KEYSER: Thanks for joining us. I know you’re a busy guy these days, so we appreciate it. First off, congrats on a helluva round Monday.

ANDREW LISTER: Thanks.

 

MK: Is this the first time you’ve tried to qualify for the U.S. Open?

AL: I tried last year and maybe the year before that. Last year I shot even, 72, and missed it by three or four shots.

 

MK: What did you take from that experience coming into this year? AndrewLister_TBT

AL: Last year I tripled a par 5 on the back 9, so this year I just told myself I was going to play smart and take my medicine when I needed to give myself a good shot at qualifying. I ended up playing really well.

 

MK: 64 is quite the round.

AL: I hit the ball really good. I missed one green all day and ended up getting the ball up-and-down. I made a few putts, missed a couple of short birdies—I guess I made my fair share, too—and had everything going.

 

MK: Did you make any bogies?

AL: No.

 

MK: Take us through the round. Did you start off hot and maintain it through the round or did you play consistently well throughout your round?

AL: I played solid on the front 9. I made three birdies and shot 3 under. On the back 9, I pared my first three holes, then went 5 under on my last six holes. I birdied 13, 14, 15, 16, pared 17, and birdied 18. I made a good birdie on 15. I was in the right trees and hit a punch shot that ran up to the green and made a putt.

 

MK: Did it ever cross your mind you were playing well and had a shot to place in the top seven qualifying spots?

AL: I figured if I played well I probably had a good chance at qualifying for sectionals. I didn’t really know what I was shooting during the round—I knew I was playing well. Towards the end I had an idea I was going to make it, but I tried not to think about it. When I got to 18 [a par 5], I knew I didn’t want to do anything stupid with water on the hole, so I laid up on my approach shot. I hit my drive to the right and was in some rough. I probably had an 8-iron in, but it was windy and I didn’t want to risk hitting it in the water, so I laid up. I hit a pretty conservative wedge to about 30 feet and made the putt.

 

MK: Any nerves for you now knowing you’re going on to sectionals?

AL: I’m excited. I know Lakeside [Country Club in Houston]. That’s my first choice for sectionals, so I assume I’m going to play there. I’ve played there a decent amount, so I’m excited. I think I have a shot to play in the U.S. Open if I play well.

 

MK: How long have you been playing golf?

AL: I started when I was 11, playing with my dad. I didn’t really get into it until high school. Now I’m on the course every day. I’m at A&M now, and I love it there, it was my first choice out of high school. We have great practice facilities, coaches, and I love my teammates.

 

MK: Kind of adds a new aspect to the game when everything like that falls into place.

AL: It’s nice. There have been some really good players to come through this program, and we’ve got some really good guys now. Playing with them has taught me a lot. We’re at the NCAA regionals right now getting ready for the tournament Thursday.

 

MK: Obviously you want the team to do well this week to advance in the NCAA Tournament, but what would playing well this week do for your confidence going into sectionals?

AL: That would give me a lot of confidence going forward. It’s good to have more good streaks than it is to have bad streaks. I’ve been playing good the last couple weeks. I had a good tournament at the Floridian and placed third; it was a par 71 and I shot 9-under, 68-67-69. I had a couple weeks after that I didn’t play so well, but I’ve been hitting the ball a lot better lately.

 

MK: It’s crazy how golf is such a fickle sport. One week you’re playing great and the next you can’t find your swing to save your life.

AL: Yeah. Some days it’s a lot easier to figure it out than others.

 

MK: So you didn’t get serious about the game until high school?

AL: Through high school I was the No. 1 golfer on my high school team from the start. From then it was a dream of mine to play college golf. I didn’t know where I was going to play—I wanted to go to a good program. I had a really good summer before my senior year, and from there I was lucky to get a really good offer from A&M.

 

MK: That’s big time getting an offer from such a prestigious Division I university.

AL: I’m very thankful.

 

MK: How has your game improved since you’ve been at A&M?

AL: I’ve gotten a lot better from 150 yards in. I’m a lot better with my putter now, and my short game and wedges are a lot better. I’ve learned a lot: to practice more and what makes you score better. I’m a good deal longer, too.

 

MK: What do you attribute that to: more time in the gym, adjustments in your swing?

AL: As I’ve gotten older I’ve begun hitting it father. We work out but not too hard. And I have a homemade swing, so I don’t make many adjustments to it. I guess it’s just my man strength (laughs).

MK: (laughs) Man strength, that’s one way to put it.

 

MK: So you’ve been playing quite a few years now, what’s your most memorable golf moment?

AL: Just getting out and playing with my friends, my teammates; I love getting out with them and having fun and competing with them.

 

Lister
Lister said since he’s joined the A&M golf team his short game has vastly improved, he’s learned how to score, and he hits the ball a lot farther, which he attributes to his added “man strength.” [Photo courtesy of Texas A&M]
MK: Playing college golf I bet you’ve traveled quite a bit and gotten the opportunity to play courses across the country.

AL: Oh yeah. And growing up my dad was in the navy—I didn’t grow up in Texas—so every 2-3 years we’d move around.

 

MK: What’s your most favorite course?

AL: I really like the courses up in the northeast. We went on a trip earlier this year to Long Island and played some courses up there, and they were pretty sweet. I played in the U.S. Amateur last year at the Country Club in Boston and that was a great course.

 

MK: What are the biggest differences between those courses and the courses here in Texas?

AL: They’re more old school—the holes are lined with trees, they have more character. You have to think your way around the course rather than stepping on the tee box and try to hit the ball as hard as you can.

 

MK: Last thing, any advice to any golfers out there thinking about trying to qualify for the 2015 U.S. Open?

AL: Start with a game plan and stick to it. There are only seven spots so you have to play well. Go out there, don’t psyche yourself out because it’s a qualifier, and play your game and hopefully you make it.

 

MK: Thanks for taking time out to talk to us. Keep us posted on how you’re doing and good luck this week.

AL: For sure. Thanks.

One thought on “Texas A&M’s Andrew Lister is one step from qualifying for U.S. Open

Leave a comment